WATERTOWN — The Berkshire League cross country teams finally got a chance to finish out their season with a league championship meet at Black Rock State Park last week. The top teams were Northwestern on the boys’ side and Thomaston on the girls’. In the boys’ competition, Northwestern scored a team best 29 points to win the championship. Gilbert was second with 48 points. Thomaston was third with 48 points, but Gilbert was awarded second on a tiebreaker. Nonnewaug finished fourth with 54 points, while Shepaug was sixth with 88 points.

Nonnewaug initially was not going to run as Region 14 had shut down all extra-curricular activities the Friday before, but a last-minute decision, allowed individuals on both the boys’ and girls’ teams to run in the Monday meet.

The top runner in the meet was Northwestern’s Alex Beauchene in a time of 17:53. The second runner to finish was Nick Zappone of Terryville with a time of 17:59.

Local runners from Shepaug and Nonnewaug and their times follow.

Nonnewaug: Fifth, Greg Bastek, 18:23; 12th, Emilio Calvano, 19:19; 17th, Preston Deleo, 19:36; 20th, Ian Budrewicz, 20:15, and 24th, Daniel Jaffrin, 20:59.

Shepaug: 15th, Jakob Wild, 19:25; 16th, Samuel Quigley, 19:31; 27th, Matt Sheedy, 21:08; 30th, Elijah Fowler, 21:30, and Erik Lindblom, 22:42.

On the girls’ side of the league championships, Thomaston senior Megan Desmaris won the championship for the third straight year with a time of 20:30.5, while also leading her Golden Bear squad to its second team championship in a row and ninth overall in the last 13 years.

Charlotte Clulow of Housatonic followed in second place with a time of 20:34. In the team competition, Thomaston easily won with just 18 points, followed by Shepaug in second place with 46 points. Nonnewaug only had four runners, so there was no team score.

The times and places for Shepaug and Nonnewaug runners follow.

Shepaug: Fourth, Eilish Foy, 21:17; 10th, Mary Katherine Eddy, 22:18; 16th, Emma Perun, 23:12; 20th, Faith Bargellini, 23:51, and 21st, Peyton Nash, 24:43.

Nonnewaug: 12th, Sara Norton, 22:50; 22nd, Lizzie King, 24:54; 28th, Jenna Barnes, 26:59, and 30th, Caroline Kyrytsche, 27:23.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.