WOODBURY — The Woman’s Club of Woodbury invites the public to attend its 25th annual Holiday House Tour, set for 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday December 14. Tickets can be purchased in advance for $30 or on the day of the tour for $35. Those seeking additional information may call 203-405-3868 or 203-263-3623, visit www.womansclubofwoodbury.org or find Woman’s Club of Woodbury (the one in Connecticut) on Facebook.
The Samuel Bull Homestead
at Woodbury Barns and Farm
The Samuel Bull Homestead was built in 1706, after its namesake acquired 20 acres on Main Street South in Woodbury. It was Samuel Bull who set up the first blacksmith shop and the first general store in Woodbury which, as the tale goes, was also a stop on the Underground Railroad.
The original 20-acre property which had included a three-acre pond and homestead morphed over time to include three main structures and four additional outbuildings.
As the years passed, the original blacksmith shop became “the Cottage” and was transformed into a lovely living space with four bedrooms and three bathrooms, each in unique styles. The master bedroom is lined with a tufted fabric wall covering.
The interior has been redesigned with an historic French provincial theme. The collections include hottes (baskets or tin backpacks to carry grapes at harvest time) and clay pots-au-confit (vessels used to preserve duck in its own fat before refrigeration was invented). The building features two staircases.
The wine cave on the property was constructed in 1846 and shares space with old horse stalls, branded long ago from horses gnawing on the paddock gates.
Today the owners can boast that it is the only authentic French provincial wine cave in Connecticut.
The Ridge House
The “Ridge House” was built in 1981 by popular Woodbury builder Peter Gaug for his wife, June. Mr. Gaug situated this large two-level contemporary home which features windows of every shape and size, on the highest point of the six-acre property. “The Point” is the large rock outcropping located just off the beautiful terrace from which one can experience a delightful panoramic view of the valley below.
Linda Leidel, an accomplished artist, moved in to this family-owned property in 2008. Embracing the openness and light of the building, she has showcased single works of art as well as her collection of African artifacts and paintings.
The large beige and white textile featured in the living room was created by Carol Cassidy, who is credited with reviving the lost art of silk weaving in Laos.
Most of the African collection that decorates the walls of the Music Room with its grand piano was acquired during a 2007 visit to the Nambale Magnet School in Western Kenya.
During her visit she met and developed a friendship with the Rev. Evalyn Wakhusama, the Yale-educated Kenyan native who founded this school to provide a home and excellent education for orphans and others impacted by the AIDS crisis.
The Linda Leidel Home
Built in 1950, this ranch-style, three-bedroom house with its gable roof is situated on 3.5 acres on a hill in a secluded wooded neighborhood. The homeowner’s display of her many works of art (her own as well as by others) will delight visitors with their varied forms and mediums – many of which have a Swedish history.
In the front foyer, an antique horsehair “Horse and Carriage” sculpture is perched in its own niche opposite a print of a work by Swedish artist Carl Olof Larsson.
Larsson was a significant painter of oils, watercolors and frescoes during the Arts and Crafts movement of 1880-1920.
A 12-foot antique drafting desk that boasts three lift tops dominates the open kitchen.
Lining one wall of the living room is a gallery of portraits of a single model in different garb, painted over multiple years by the homeowner.
The unique coffee table was originally a door from the historic Natalie Van Vleck studio at Flanders Nature Center before it was purchased at a fundraiser and repurposed for the home.
The dining room features a painting by local artist Peter Seltzer, regarded as a pastel technical wizard who mastered this difficult medium.
The Terrell Hill
Located on the eastern side of Woodbury, the Terrell Hill Farmhouse was constructed in 1760 in the early New England colonial architectural style and restored in 2015 by Stephanie Clark, the present owner.
Original hand-hewn beams can be seen throughout the house. Although the original boards on the first floor were replaced with new ones, original nails were reused and boards themselves were used as knee boards on the second floor, which retains its original flooring.
A handcrafted map of the Appalachian Trail was repurposed as a sink countertop and is the highlight of the upstairs bathroom.
Throughout the house visitors will also admire an eclectic collection of antique furniture, paintings and collectibles.
Of note is an acrylic painting of houses by Mary Bell Mooney that decorates the sitting area of a guest bedroom.
The barn replaces the original one that was dismantled and numbered, piece by piece, to ensure its accurate reconstruction at its new owner’s property.
In this grand barn built in 2016, injured horses receive loving, expert care from veterinarians, physical therapists, animal communicators and riders.
Visitors can also meet Bentley and Tonka who live in the big barn and Bocce and Bunny who live in the small barn.
The Beverly Carlone House
148 Great Hollow Rd.
This ranch-style home was custom built in 1970 by builder Peter Gaug.
The current owner acquired the house in 2013 and embarked on an extensive redesign of the interior.
A lovely pillared veranda enhances the front entrance and multi-level decking enhances the outdoor entertainment space. The house boasts a large kitchen with a long granite center island designed to accommodate the owner’s love of cooking with friends.
A sunken living room with fireplace makes a cozy spot during the holidays.
The homeowner is dedicated to decorating for all seasons but especially enchants her guests with Christmas holiday decor.
Visitors should be prepared to experience a touching memorial tribute to the tragedies of both 9/11 and Sandy Hook while visiting this home.