WOODBURY — The Pomperaug River Watershed Coalition elected and welcomed Charles Bartlett, Jr., Annie Musso and Lisa Turoczi to its Board of Directors at its annual meeting.

Charles Bartlett has a long background of service to his country and Woodbury. 

After 23 years in the Army, Charles retired in 1983 to Woodbury looking for ways to get involved. There he served on the Zoning Commission, Board of Finance and the Board of Selectmen.

He has an MBA from the University of New Hampshire. Charles explained, “being of service to my community has been my passion and being on the board of PRWC is another extension where I hope I can be of some benefit.” Charles has recently relocated to Oxford.

Annie Musso comes to PRWC with a background in non-profit work and strong community involvement. 

She previously served as business administrator for the After-School Arts Program and recently joined New Morning Market’s team as business development and sustainability project leader.

She is a member of the Woodbury Conservation Commission and has been a loyal volunteer with PRWC, including participation in the Woodbury Earth Day Festival and stream assessments. Annie is a Woodbury resident.

Lisa Turoczi is a landscape architect and owner of Earth Tones Native Plant Nursery in Woodbury with her husband, Kyle. 

She has a degree in landscape architecture from SUNY Environmental Science and Forestry with hands-on experience in propagation and design build at SUNY Cobleskill for landscape design.

She serves as a member of the Connecticut Invasive Plant Working Group and has won numerous horticultural awards. 

Lisa has been generous in tree, shrub and perennial plant donations for PRWC and other organizations and volunteers with the groundwork as well. 

She has long supported PRWC’s stream buffer and rain garden projects.

Gail McTaggart, PRWC board chair, commented: “We have such a strong skilled and dedicated board that will be complemented by participation of these strong new members. Their professional and community skills and involvement will definitely help us foster our mission of using science, research and educational outreach to promote the protection of our water resources in the watershed.”

The PRWC board recognized and thanked outgoing board members Chris Wood of Woodbury and Wayne McCormack of Oxford for their years of service, leadership and stewardship.

The board also elected its slate of officers for the upcoming term including Gail McTaggart, chair; Ann Feinberg, vice chair, and David Taylor, secretary/treasurer.

In addition to new board members, PRWC welcomed several new Advisory Council members over the past year. 

Advisory Council members represent various stakeholder groups within the watershed and help provide a wide perspective on how to balance natural resource conservation and land use development activities in the context of ensuring high quality water for generations to come.

New Advisory Council members are: Ann Astarita, Roxbury Land Trust; Julie Stuart, Southbury Land Trust; Vince LaFontan, Flanders Nature Center and Land Trust; Steve Solley, Steep Rock Association; Richard Warren, O&G Industries; Maryellen Edwards, town of Woodbury; Kathy Castagnetta, town of Southbury; Mark Massoud, town of Watertown; Cynthia Rabinowitz, Northwest Conservation District, and Katy Sherer, watershed resident.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.