WATERTOWN - The 2020 fall varsity sports schedules for Watertown High School are unlike any we’ve seen in our lifetimes, or hope to ever again.

First off, of course one will notice that missing from the list is varsity football, which was canceled by the CIAC last week, meaning that Shawn Stanco will have to wait until 2021 to make his Indians’ coaching debut, either in the spring or fall.

Aside from Stanco, the only new coach this fall will Holly Hanecak, who will take over for the retired Garry Smith.

In a solid show of continuity, which is now more important than ever, athletic director Paul Catuccio’s job has been made easier by the returns of a roster of quality head coaches, as Vitto Caligiuri (boys’ soccer), Melissa Ciarlo (girls’ soccer), Audrey Brown (field hockey), Brian LaFontaine (boys’ and girls’ cross country) and Michael Theriault (girls’ volleyball) all are back this season.

Putting the schedule together  with a limited amount of time and sever travel restrictions, Catuccio is pleased with the way things fell into place.

“I’m just thankful we’ll get to play,” said Catuccio upon releasing the schedules earlier this week, “and hopefully we can get the full seasons in.” 

Greatly reduced as they are, the 2020 season is going forward with the traditional NVL divisional alignments; out are the Brass, Iron and Copper divisions; in are the North, South and City divisions for the abbreviated seasons in boys and girls soccer, cross country, girls’ volleyball, and girls’ swimming and diving.  

The Indians will be in the North Division (or ‘pod’) with Torrington, Wolcott, Naugatuck and St. Paul Catholic. (Holy Cross will be in the North in boys’ soccer, while the Indians will be in the South in girls’ swimming and diving), while the field hocjkey team, will play in the Northern Division of the SouthWest Conference. 

Notice that many traditional opponents are missing, among them Derby, Ansonia, Kennedy, Crosby, and Wilby High Schools are among the missing.

That is because time is the emeny this season; with play limited to two games per week and a much-reduced number of games, there will be reduced traveling; in fact it will be very-tightly limited as a preventative measure against the possible spread of the COVID-19 virus, which is espcially critical with the traditional flu season warming up in the bullpen and ready to end the season with less than a moment’s notice.

When the regular season ends, that will be that, as no league champions will be crowned.

Here they are, and almost needless to mention, the schedules are subject to change at a moments’ notice.

Enjoy the season while we have it.      




Coach: Vitto Caligiuri


1 St. Paul 3:45 p.m.  

3 Wolcott 6:30 p.m.   

6 Torrington 7 p.m.  

8 Naugatuck 7 p.m.  

13 Holy Cross 7 p.m.  

15 @St. Paul 3:45 p.m. 

20 @Wolcott 6 p.m.  

22 @Torrington 5 p.m.  

27 @Naugatuck 3:45 p.m.   

29 @Torrington 5 p.m.


3 @Naugatuck 3:45 p.m. 

5 @Holy Cross (Stadium) 6 p.m. 


Coach: Melissa Ciarlo


1 @St. Paul 3:45 p.m.  

3 Holy Cross 4 p.m. 

5 @Wolcott 4 p.m.  

7 @Torrington 5 p.m.  

12 @Sac. Hrt./Kaynor 3:45 p.m. 

14 @Holy Cross 7 p.m.  

19 St. Paul 6:30 p.m.  

21 Wolcott 7 p.m.  

26 Torrington 7 p.m.  

28 Sac. Hrt./Kaynor 6:30 p.m. 


2 Torrington 6 p.m.   


Coach: Brian LaFontaine


6 @Holy Cross 3:45 p.m.  

13 Wolcott 3:45 p.m.   

27 @Torrington 3:45 p.m.


3 St. Paul 3:30 p.m. 


Coach: Audrey Brown


1 New Milford 6 p.m.  

3 @New Fairfield 3 p.m.   

5 Newtown 6 p.m.  

7 Pomperaug 6 p.m.  

13 @Brookfield 4:15 p.m.   

14 @New Milford 4:15 p.m.   

19 New Fairfield 4 p.m.  

21 @Newtown 4:15 p.m. 

26 @Pomperaug 5 p.m.  

28 Brookfield 4 p.m. 


2 New Milford 4 p.m.  

4 @New Fairfield 4:15 p.m.


Coach: Holly Hanecak


2 @Seymour 4 p.m.*  

2 Naugatuck 6 p.m. * 

(*Pending change to Naugatuck H.S. awaiting acceptance.

6 @Woodland 4 p.m.  

13 Seymour 4 p.m.  

16 @Oxford 4 p.m.  

20 @Naugatuck 3:30 p.m.   

23 @Woodland 3:30 p.m.   

23 Woodland 6 p.m.  

30 @Seymour 4 p.m. 


3 Oxford 4 p.m. 

6 @Naugatuck 3:30 p.m. 


Coach: Michael Theriault


1 @St. Paul 6:15 p.m.  

2 Holy Cross 6 p.m.  

6 @Wolcott 6 p.m.  

8 @Torrington 5:30 p.m.   

13 @Naugatuck 5:15 p.m.   

15 @Holy Cross 6 p.m.  

20 St. Paul 6 p.m.  

22 Wolcott 6 p.m.  

27 Torrington 6 p.m.  

29 Naugatuck 6 p.m. 


2 Torrington 6 p.m.  

6 Naugatuck 6 p.m. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.